Why is California Burning? Senate Subcommittee Hearing Examines Utilities’ Work to Prevent and Respond to Wildfires

January 24, 2018

News Advisory, Office of State Senator Jerry Hill, January 24, 2018

Why is California Burning? State Senate Subcommittee Hearing Examines Utilities’ Work to Prevent and Respond to Wildfires

Senators Jerry Hill, Mike McGuire and Bill Dodd and Assemblymembers Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, Marc Levine and Jim Wood Hold Hearing Friday at Santa Rosa City Hall

SANTA ROSA –State Senator Jerry Hill, as chair of the Subcommittee on Gas, Electric and Transportation Safety, with North Bay Senators Bill Dodd and Mike McGuire and Assemblymembers Cecilia M. Aguiar-Curry, Marc Levine and Jim Wood hold a hearing Friday to examine utilities’ best practices to prevent and respond to wildfires.

The hearing, “California Burning: Utility Wildfire Prevention and Response,” will begin at:

10 a.m., Friday, January 26, 2018
Santa Rosa City Hall, Main Council Auditorium
100 Santa Rosa Avenue
Santa Rosa, CA 95404

The hearing agenda, which includes a list of expected speakers, is available here:
http://sd13.senate.ca.gov/sites/sd13.senate.ca.gov/files/agenda_01-26-18.pdf

The background paper for the hearing is available here:
http://sd13.senate.ca.gov/sites/sd13.senate.ca.gov/files/background_01-26-18.pdf

Senators McGuire and Dodd and Assemblymembers Aguiar-Curry, Levine and Wood, who represent communities ravaged by the wildfires in October, are co-hosting the subcommittee hearing.

As chair of the Senate Committee on Energy Utilities and Communications Subcommittee on Gas, Electric and Transportation Safety, Senator Hill conducted a hearing in November 2015, “Wildfires Caused by Power Lines,” to examine what electric utilities had done to improve safety in the years after California’s 2007 fire siege.

“While some progress has been made, the wildfires in October and December raised questions about what utilities have learned in the intervening years, how they have acted on those lessons, and what more needs to be done,” said Senator Hill. “We look forward to examining those issues on Friday.”

###

Resources:

Material for the January 26 hearing is also posted at:
http://seuc.senate.ca.gov/content/2017-2018-subcommittee-hearings

Friday’s hearing will be live streamed at:
https://youtu.be/gfp6PfjKDio

2015 Wildfire Safety Hearing Materials

Media Contacts

Leslie Guevarra for Senator Hill, 415-298-3404 cell, leslie.guevarra@sen.ca.gov
Ezrah Chaaban for Senator Dodd, 916-651-4003 office, ezrah.chaaban@sen.ca.gov
Kerrie Lindecker for Senator McGuire, 707-319-3654 cell, kerrie.lindecker@sen.ca.gov
John Ferrera for Assemblymember Aguiar-Curry, 916-402-8900  cell, john.ferrera@asm.ca.gov
Minnie Santillan for Assemblymember Levine, 916-319-2010 office, minnie.santillan@asm.ca.gov
Cathy Mudge for Assemblymember Wood, 916-319-2002 office, cathy.mudge@asm.ca.gov