SUMMARY

Senator Jerry Hill, 13" Senate District
S SB 1046 — Ignition Interlock Devices for DUI Offenders

Requires all persons convicted of Driving Under the
Influence (DUI) to install and maintain an Ignition
Interlock Device (1ID). Would expand the current 4-
county pilot program statewide.

» 1st DUI offense: 11D for six months

» 2nd DUI offense: 11D for one year

» 3rd DUI offense: 11D for two years

» 4th and subsequent DUI: 11D for three years

Some highlights of the new bill:

e Expands the financial assistance program to
include 301%-400% of federal poverty.

e Authorizes judges to lower fines for offenders who
participate in the early 11D installation program
since the high cost of DUISs has been raised as a
concern in the past.

e Allows offenders to drive soon after arrest if they
install an 11D so people can get back to work,
family responsibilities, etc. Once convicted their
ultimate 11D time requirement will be reduced
based on the early install time period.

A recent report by Mothers Against Drunk Driving
(MADD) found that 11Ds in California have prevented
over 1 million instances of drinking and driving since
2010: http://www.madd.org/local-
offices/ca/documents/California-Report.pdf

According to DMV data, during the last 30 years, over
50,000 people have died in California because of drunk
drivers and over 1 million have been injured. Under
current law, installation of 11Ds is optional for DUI
offenders. A four county pilot program is currently
underway in Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and
Tulare counties requiring 11Ds for any convicted drunk
driver (AB 91 of 2009). SB 61 (Hill, 2015) temporarily
continued the 4-county pilot program so the legislature
has time to review the DMV report in 2016 and
determine the best way to move forward.

Currently, 25 states have laws requiring ignition
interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers. According to
the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC),
requiring or highly incentivizing interlocks for all
convicted drunk drivers reduces drunk driving
recidivism by 67 percent. The CDC recommends

Ignition interlocks for everyone convicted of DWI,
even for first offenders.

Since New Mexico's interlock law was implemented in
2005, drunk driving fatalities are down by 38 percent.
Since Arizona and Louisiana implemented their
interlock law in 2007, drunk driving deaths have
decreased by 43 and 35 percent, respectively. In
Oregon, as a result of 2008 interlock law, DUI deaths
are down 42 percent.

About half of California DUI offenders drive illegally
after their arrest and choose not to participate in
treatment or 11D programs. SB 1046 will seek to bring
more offenders into the legal system by creating an
incentive program allowing offenders to drive soon
after their arrest if they show proof of IID installation.
The legislation will also continue & expand assistance
for low-income offenders.

The bill is consistent with reports from the National
Transportation Safety Board and the U.S. Centers for
Disease and Prevention which both recommend that all
people convicted of drunk driving should have ignition
interlock devices installed in their cars. The National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration found that
“ignition interlocks, when appropriately used, prevent
alcohol-impaired driving by DWI offenders, resulting
in increased safety for all roadway users.”

OVERVIEW

Over the last 30 years, over 50,000 people have died in
California because of drunk drivers and over 1 million
have been injured.

Each year in this state over 1,000 people die and more

than 20,000 are injured from drunk drivers.

Repeat DUI offenders account for about 1/3 of annual

DUI convictions.

Under current law, installation of 11Ds is optional for
DUI offenders. A four county pilot program is
currently underway in Alameda, Los Angeles,
Sacramento, and Tulare counties which requires 11Ds
for any convicted drunk driver (AB 91 of 2009). SB 61
(Hill, 2015) temporarily continued the 4-county pilot
program so the legislature has time to review the DMV
report in 2016 and determine the best way to move
forward.


http://www.madd.org/local-offices/ca/documents/California-Report.pdf
http://www.madd.org/local-offices/ca/documents/California-Report.pdf

According to the DMV’s initial report, “IID
installation rates among all DUI offenders increased
dramatically in the pilot counties from 2.1% during the
pre-pilot period to 42.4% during the pilot period.”

0 Alameda: 37.8% installation rate

O Los Angeles: 45% installation rate
0 Sacramento: 40.2% installation rate
0 Tulare: 28.4% installation rate

Currently, 25 states have laws requiring ignition
interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers. In states with
well implemented programs, a successful ignition
interlock program has at least 30 percent of eligible
offenders installing an interlock. California is already
well beyond the nationwide average.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention (CDC), requiring or highly incentivizing
interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers reduces
drunk driving recidivism by 67 percent. The CDC
recommends Ignition interlocks for everyone convicted
of DWI, even for first offenders.

“First-time” offenders are rarely first-time drunk
drivers. Conservative estimates show that a first-time
convicted DUI offender has driven drunk at least 80
times prior to being arrested.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration’s Traffic Safety Facts 2009: Alcohol-
Impaired Driving, drivers with previous driving while
impaired (DW1) convictions pose a substantial risk of
offending again. Data show that legally impaired
drivers involved in fatal crashes were eight times more
likely to have a prior DWI conviction than drivers who
had not been drinking.

OTHER STATES

Multiple offender rearrest rates were 66% lower than
the rearrest rates of those without interlock devices.
However, after the interlocks were removed, there was
no appreciable difference between the group who had
used the interlocks and those who did not use them.
During the full study period, including both the time
on interlock and after interlock, the rearrest rate for
those who installed the interlock was 22% less than the
rearrest rate for those without the interlock.

Another study of New Mexico’s IID program found
that recidivism rates were reduced by 75 percent for
offenders in the program compared to non-
participating offenders. The same study found that
alcohol-involved crashes declined 31 percent between
2002 and 2007, according to statistics compiled by
Richard Roth, executive director of Impact DWI.

DMV REPORT

Since New Mexico's interlock law was implemented in
2005, drunk driving fatalities are down by 38 percent.
Since Arizona and Louisiana implemented their
interlock law in 2007, drunk driving deaths have
decreased by 43 and 35 percent, respectively. In
Oregon, as a result of 2008 interlock law, DUI deaths
are down 42 percent.

New Mexico currently has the highest rate of interlock
installations per capita in the nation. The National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration funded a study
there from 1999-2002 comparing recidivism of
multiple offenders with and without interlocks.

In January of 2015 the DMV released a report titled,
“General Deterrent Evaluation of the Ignition Interlock
Pilot Program in California.” The report examined the
AB 91 pilot program in Alameda, Los Angeles,
Sacramento, and Tulare counties. The report found that
“IID installation rates among all DUI offenders
increased dramatically in the pilot counties from 2.1%
during the pre-pilot period to 42.4% during the pilot
period.”

The report only looked at “general deterrence” which
determines whether or not the existence of an 11D law
impacts the decision of whether someone drinks and
drives. In other words, if someone is drinking at a bar,
are they more or less likely to drive drunk if there’s an
IID law in effect that they probably don’t even know
exists. The report concluded, “no evidence was found
that the pilot program has a general deterrence effect.”
Meaning that the existence of a state law didn’t impact
someone’s decision to drink and drive.

In our opinion, general deterrence is meaningless.
What matters is “specific deterrence” - whether or not
a participant in the pilot program who installs an 11D
reoffends or hurts or kills someone. The DMV needs
to determine if pilot program participants who installed
an 11D were involved in accidents resulting in injuries
or death. What also matters is how many instances of
drunk driving were stopped by the 11D device for
program participants.



DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED LICENSE

ASSISTANCE FOR LOW INCOME OFFENDERS

Over half of DUI offenders drive illegally after their
arrest and choose not to participate in treatment or 11D
programs. One of the impediments is the amount of
time they have to wait to drive after their arrest.

SB 61 initially sought to reduce the number of DUI
offenders who drive illegally and bring them into the
system so they can receive treatment and legally
reinstate their driving privileges. The bill
accomplishes this by allowing DUI offenders to install
an 11D immediately after their arrest and begin driving
right away without having to wait months for the court
and DMV process. They will receive credit for time
served if they end up being convicted which will count
towards their ultimate 11D time requirement.
Immediate driving privileges with an 11D allow
offenders to continue work and family responsibilities
while making it more likely that they drive legally.

According to the DMVs 2012 report, “Identifying
Barriers to Driving Privilege Reinstatement Among
California DUI Offenders™:

0 Only about 54% of the eligible 1st offenders
and 36% of the eligible 2nd offenders had fully
reinstated their driving privileges 3.8 to 4.8 years after
their arrest.

O There was strong agreement across the
surveyed offenders and DUI professionals that the
second most important factor associated with failing to
reinstate or even trying to comply with the
requirements results from offenders’ confusion about
what is actually required of them. This is followed
closely by failures to complete DUI Program
requirements...followed by lack of available alternate
transportation to attend classes.

In 2006, Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)
launched A Campaign to Eliminate Drunk Driving
which calls for all states to pass interlocks for all
convicted drunk drivers because 50 to 75 percent of
convicted drunk drivers continue to drive without a
license. Therefore, license suspension is not the most
effective way to protect the public from convicted
drunk drivers, or to rehabilitate the offender.
According to the DMV, in 2009, 43,598 Californians
there were convicted for operating a vehicle without a
valid license due to their license being suspended as a
result of a previous DUI. Ignition interlocks allow a
convicted drunk driver to continue driving, but in a
way that will protect Californians.

SB 61 continues the successful financial assistance
program contained in the current 4-county pilot
program and expands it:

e A person at 100% of the federal poverty level
($23K annually family of 4) is responsible for 10%
of the 11D cost. The 11D provider absorbs the rest.

e A person at 101 to 200% of the federal poverty
level ($47K annually family of 4) is responsible for
25% of the 11D cost. The 11D provider absorbs the
rest.

e A person at 201 to 300% of the federal poverty
level ($70K annually family of 4) is responsible for
50% of the 11D cost. The IID provider absorbs the
rest.

e A person at 301 to 400% of the federal poverty
level ($97K annually family of 4) is responsible for
90% of the 11D cost. The 11D provider absorbs the
rest.

e All other offenders are responsible for 100 percent
of the cost of the ignition interlock device.

[1Ds for All DUI Offenders

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB)
recently recommended that all people convicted of
drunk driving should have ignition interlock devices
installed in their cars. NTSB supports SB 61 saying,
“Research evaluation of ignition interlock programs
over the last two decades has found that ignition
interlock devices are effective in reducing recidivism
among DWI1 offenders, sometimes by as much as 62 to
75 percent.” “SB 61 significantly upgrades California’s
ignition interlock law by mandating devices for all
offenders...providing your state another excellent step
toward reducing crashes, injuries, and deaths involving
alcohol-impaired drivers.”

The U.S. Centers for Disease and Prevention reviewed
fifteen studies on the effectiveness of ignition interlock
devices at reducing DUI recidivism, concluding: “re-
arrest rates for alcohol-impaired driving decreased by a
median of 67 percent relative to comparison groups.”
The CDC recommends Ignition interlocks for everyone
convicted of DWI, even for first offenders.

In February of 2014 the National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration released their report, “Ignition
Interlocks —What You Need To Know.” It found that
“ignition interlocks, when appropriately used, prevent
alcohol-impaired driving by DWI offenders, resulting
in increased safety for all roadway users.”



“Research has shown that, while installed on an
offender’s vehicle, ignition interlocks reduce
recidivism among both first-time and repeat DWI
offenders.”

“Ignition interlocks permit offenders to retain or regain
legal driving status, thus enabling them to maintain
employment and manage familial and court-ordered
responsibilities that require driving. This is a
particularly relevant benefit, as many offenders
without interlocks drive illegally on a
suspended/revoked license, often after drinking. The
installation of an interlock on the offender’s vehicle
reduces the probability of this occurring, thereby
improving public safety.”

“A majority of offenders surveyed believe ignition
interlock sanctions to be fair and reduce driving after
drinking. Family members believed that ignition
interlocks provided a level of reassurance that an
offender was not driving while impaired and reported a
generally positive experience and impact on the
offender’s drinking habits.”

“As with any sanction, there are costs. Costs associated
with the devices themselves, including installation,
maintenance, monitoring, estimated at approximately
$3 to $4 per day, are borne by the offender. Research
has estimated a cost/benefit of an ignition interlock
sanction at $3 for a first time offender, and $4 to $7 for
other offenders accruing for each dollar spent on an
interlock program. The cost of an interlock sanction is
less than incarceration, vehicle impoundment, or other
monitoring devices such as alcohol monitoring
bracelets, with the costs accruing to the offender
through a series of fees rather than the State.”

SUPPORT

Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones

John Muir Health

LA City Attorney Mike Feuer

League of California Cities

Long Beach Police Officers Association

Mothers Against Drunk Driving

National Transportation Safety Board

Peace Officers Research Association of California
Personal Insurance Federation of CA

Regional Medical Center

Sacramento County Deputy Sheriff’s Association
Tulare County Supervisor Ennis

Safety Council

San Diego County

San Francisco Chief of Police Greg Suhr

San Marcos Prevention Coalition

FOR MORE INFORMATION

AAA Automobile Club of Nor Cal and So Cal
Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety
Alameda District Attorney O’Malley

Alcohol Justice

Association of Orange County Deputy Sheriffs
California Air Shock Trauma Rescue
California Ambulance Association

California Association of Highway Patrolmen
California Fraternal Order of Police

California Medical Association

California Statewide Law Enforcement Association
Crime Victims United

City of El Cajon

Crime Victims United of California

Nate Solov — 651-4013 — nate.solov@sen.ca.gov
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