
 

 

 

                 SB 814 – Reducing Excessive Water Use – Factsheet 

 

IN BRIEF 

SB 814 is about making sure all Californians share in 

the efforts to conserve water during California’s worst 

drought in recorded history. 

 

THE PROBLEM 

Under the State Water Resources Control Board’s (the 

“Board”) emergency regulations, water use restrictions 

may vary slightly among the 411 water supplier 

territories throughout the state. But in general, 

residential water users can be – and are – fined $500 a 

day for the following: 

 

 Using a hose to wash a car without an automatic 

shutoff valve 

 

 Washing down a driveway or sidewalk 

 

 Watering outdoor landscaped areas within 48 

hours of it raining 

 

 Watering outdoor landscapes on the wrong day 

or during the wrong period of the day, as 

established by local rules 

 

However, while $500 fines can be assessed for these 

infractions, residential water users in California that 

use an excessive amount of water are not subject to 

any fines. The great majority of Californians are 

making sacrifices to conserve water and meet the 

mandatory statewide water conservation goal of 25%, 

but there is a segment of residential water users appear 

to be using as much water as they want, whenever they 

want. This is a clear inequity in California’s efforts to 

conserve water during the state’s worst drought in 

recorded history. 

 

It’s unknown how many residential water users have 

been fined, but according to data collected by the 

Board, since June 2015 water suppliers have issued an 

average of 8,900 penalties per month for water waste 

or not meeting conservation goals. This number also 

includes drought surcharges. The only known water 

supplier that assesses penalties on excessive water 

users is East Bay MUD because the state currently 

doesn’t compel water suppliers to have an excessive 

water use policy. 

 

 

In the face of such a severe drought, all Californians 

should have to cut back water use. By not publicly 

identifying and taking enforcement actions against 

excessive water users, the state’s water suppliers aren’t 

meeting Governor Brown’s 2014 Executive Order to 

“bring enforcement actions against illegal diverters and 

those engaging in the wasteful and unreasonable use of 

water.” 

 

BACKGROUND  

California is experiencing the worst drought in modern 

history. According to the Public Policy Institute of 

California, “the three-year period between fall 2011 

and fall 2014 was the driest since recordkeeping began 

in 1895.” In response, in April 2015, Governor Brown 

declared a state of emergency, requiring a 25% 

reduction of water use statewide. To meet this goal, the 

State Water Resources Control Board issued 

emergency regulations in May 2015. The regulations 

require each individual water supplier to reduce its 

water use by varying water conservation rates, ranging 

from 4% to 36%. Each of the state’s 411 water 

suppliers must report monthly conservation data 

enforcement statistics to the Board every month. Any 

water supplier that doesn’t meet its established 

conservation threshold can be fined by the Board up to 

$500 per day. 

 

Under the Board’s emergency drought regulations, 

residential water users are prohibited to hose down 

driveways, to cause water runoff, to use hoses without 

shutoff nozzles, and more. Any person who breaks 

these rules can result in a fine of up to $500 per day, 

assessed by the local water supplier. In addition, the 

California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) 

oversees Investor Owned Utility (IOU) water 

suppliers, which deliver water to about 16% of the 

state. The CPUC has ordered all IOU water suppliers 

to implement similar measures to comply with the 25% 

water reduction mandate.  

 

The Board’s emergency regulations don’t preclude a 

local water supplier from adopting more stringent 

conservation measures and local suppliers retain 

overall enforcement discretion in enforcing the 

emergency regulations to conserve water. It’s up to 

each local water supplier to decide if and when to issue 

fines. The Board has encouraged water suppliers to 
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develop their own progressive enforcement practices to 

promote conservation. 

 

The $500 fines are typically assessed on average 

residential water users, people living in households 

that use about 11,700 (based on the Board’s reported 

average daily household use for September 2015 of 97 

gallons per day) gallons per month. At the same time, 

excessive water users – households that in some cases 

are using more than 80,000 gallons per month, or 8 

times as much as average user – are not fined for their 

unreasonable and wasteful use of water. Although it’s 

not known exactly how many excessive water users 

there are across the state, the Center for Investigative 

Reporting, in its reporting, has been able to determine 

that there at least 365 households in the state that use 

over 1 million gallons of water a year.  

 

According to the data collected by the Center for 

Investigative Reporting, in Los Angeles alone, at least 

92 households used 4.2 million gallons in one year, an 

amount that could supply enough water for at least 30 

families. At least 73 households used more than 3 

million gallons in a year and 14 households used more 

than 6 million gallons in a year. One household used 

over 12 million gallons in one year.  

 

One local water supplier – the East Bay Municipal 

Utility District (EBMUD) – has already established a 

policy to go after excessive water users. EBMUD has 

identified over 1,000 homes that meet their definition 

of excessive water use, which is about 1,000 gallons 

per day, four times the average use EBMUD’s service 

area. EBMUD imposes fines for exceeding the limit 

and, in accordance with existing law, also publicly 

discloses who the excessive users are. The highest 

excessive use residential water user in EBMUD’s 

service territory used over 11,000 gallons a day.  

 

The policy seems to be working. According to 

EBMUD, 2/3 of homes initially identified as excessive 

users have since cut their water use by about 20%. In 

some instances, the identification of excessive users 

helped those users identify leaks that were previously 

undetected. EBMUD noted that other factors, such as 

cooler weather, may have contributed to the water use 

reduction. 

 

THE SOLUTION 

During the worst drought in recorded history, SB 814 

is intended to prevent the unreasonable use or the 

waste of water to protect water resources in the interest 

of the people and for the public welfare. SB 814 will 

require both public and private urban retail water 

suppliers – agencies that directly provide potable 

municipal water to more than 3,000 users – to levy 

fines against residential excessive water users that are 

individually metered or sub-metered. Specifically: 

 

 The bill prohibits excessive water use and requires 

water suppliers do one of two things: 

 

1. Establish a rate structure that includes water 

budgets or rate surcharges for excessive water 

use. 

 

2. Establish an excessive use ordinance. 

 

 If a water supplier elects to adopt an excessive 

water ordinance, the water supplier must set a 

definition of excessive use in terms of gallons or 

hundreds of cubic feet of water. When establishing 

the definition of excessive use, a water supplier 

may – but isn’t required to – consider the following 

factors: 

 

o Average daily water use,  

 

o Full-time occupancy of residences,  

 

o Amount of landscaped land on a property,  

 

o The evapotranspiration rate,   

 

o Seasonal changes in the weather.  

 

 The ordinance must include a fine of up to $500 for 

each hundred cubic feet – 748 gallons – above the 

excessive use definition. Water suppliers may take 

other actions, such as issuing warnings, before 

assessing a fine, which will be assessed on a 

residential customer’s regular bill. Each water 

supplier will be required to have a process for non-

payment that must be consistent with each water 

supplier’s existing process for customer non-

payment. 

 

 Every water supplier will be required to have an 

appeal process for assessed fines. In order to be 

considered for an appeal, a customer must 

demonstrate that their water use did not violate the 

excessive use ordinance or rule, that there was a 

demonstrable leak, that the water was used for a 

bona fide medical reason, or for any other reasons 



 

 

that a water supplier might decide are reasonable 

considerations for the basis of an appeal.  

 

 The bill will only take effect when the Governor 

has declared a state of emergency based on drought 

conditions. 

 

SUPPORT 

California League of Conservation Voters 

Clean Water Action 

Sierra Club of California 
(updated 3-23-16) 

 

FOR MORE INFORMATION 

Patrick Welch – 651-4013 – patrick.welch@sen.ca.gov  
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