San Francisco Chronicle: Legislation that would require California doctors to notify their patients when the medical board puts them on probation for a serious offense faces a key test in the state Senate on Monday.
Climate Magazine: Elected representatives sign on for anything, but in fact the professional life of a state senator never before required "the member," as they are referred to by staff in Sacramento, to deal with a massive gas explosion, the consequent death of eight constituents and pervasive corruption in a state agency responsible for it, until Jerry Hill came along.
San Francisco Chronicle: The San Francisco Police Department on Monday threw its support behind legislation that would expand the use of a device that prevents DUI convicts from starting up their vehicles while inebriated.
ABC10: There’s a gas leak! -- It’s a phrase that causes an adrenaline rush and leads to fears that there could be an explosion. While that explosion hasn't occurred in Sacramento, a large construction project in the city has led to several close calls - too many, according to a national gas safety expert and a California legislator.
KYMX CBS Local: A California Senate committee is scheduled to vote tomorrow on a bill reducing the $500 fine for rolling right turns on red. State Senator Jerry Hill says it makes sense to reduce the amount of the fine because of how it could financially hurt people in poverty.
KABC LA: A state lawmaker is pushing a bill that would sharply reduce the fine for failing to come to a complete stop while making a right turn at a red light. Senator Jerry Hill from San Mateo says SB 681 addresses a fine hike passed into law in 1997 in which driving straight through a red light would result in a 500 dollar fine. Making the rolling right, was supposedly a lesser crime with a lesser fine.
ABC 7/KGO: If you drive your car up onto the sidewalk, you can get a $250 fine. If you drive down the wrong way on a one-way street, that's another $250 fine. If you roll through a red light, you can get hit with a $500 fine. One local politician says it is not fair and it is time to change.
Daily Journal: As the drought drags on and many communities strive to meet state conservation mandates, one legislator is seeking to crack down on water wasters by publicly identifying and fining those using an excessive amount of the scarce resource.